Skip to main content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer content

Community and Regional Planning Center


Useful Links:

AICP is the American Planning Association's professional institute, providing recognized leadership nationwide in the certification of professional planners, ethics, professional development, planning education, and the standards of planning practice.


APA includes a professional institute for certified planners, 47 chapters, 20 divisions, and special memberships for students.


Over 5,000 members strong, APA California is a network of practicing planners, citizens and elected officials committed to urban, surburban, regional ,and rural planning in the state of California. APA California offers a wide spectrum of member benefits including information, services and support to advance planning in California.


The Central Section is a networking and continuing education organization for professional planners in the Central Valley of California. Our members work in private firms, as consultants, or in city/county governments. We hope members of the Central Section will find this a helpful site with APA-related news and information.


As one of the earliest divisions of the American Planning Association, the Planning and Women Division was formed in 1979 as a platform from which to transmit ideas and career concerns of particular interest to women and to the general membership of the American Planning Association.


The Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning (ACSP) is a consortium of university-based programs offering credentials in urban and regional planning. Acting together, the ACSP member school faculty is able to express their shared commitments to understanding the dynamics of urban and regional development, enhancing planning practices, and improving the education of both novice and experienced planners.

  • ACSP Conference
  • ACSP Newsletter
  • Links to Planning Schools
  • Choosing a Career in Urban Planning
  • Guide to Graduate and Undergraduate Education in Urban and Regional Planning


Planners Network is an association of professionals, activists, academics, and students involved in physical, social, economic, and environmental planning in urban and rural areas, who promote fundamental change in our political and economic systems.


The Planning Accreditation Board (PAB) accredits university programs in North America leading to bachelor's and master's degrees in planning. The accreditation process is based on standards approved by the PAB with input from the public and our sponsoring organizations: the American Planning Association (APA); the American Institute of Certified Planners (AICP) (the professional planner's institute within the American Planning Association); and the Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning (ACSP).


  • Fresno Council of Governments (Fresno COG) represents 16 member agencies including Fresno County and the cities of Clovis, Coalinga, Firebaugh, Fowler, Fresno, Huron, Kerman, Kingsburg, Mendota, Orange Cove, Parlier, Reedley, San Joaquin, Sanger, and Selma.
  • Kern Council of Governments (Kern COG) represents 12 member agencies including Kern County and the cities of Arvin, Bakersfield, California City, Delano, Maricopa, McFarland, Ridgecrest, Shafter, Taft, Tehachapi, and Wasco.
  • Kings County Association of Governments (KCAG) represents five member agencies including Kings County and the cities of Avenal, Corcoran, Hanford, and Lemoore.
  • Madera County Transportation Commission (MCTC) represents three member agencies including Madera County and the cities of Chowchilla and Madera.
  • Merced County Association of Governments (MCAG) represents seven member agencies including Merced County and the cities of Atwater, Dos Palos, Gustine, Livingston, Los Banos, and Merced.
  • San Joaquin Council of Governments (SJCOG) represents eight member agencies including San Joaquin County and the cities of Escalon, Lathrop, Lodi, Manteca, Ripon, Stockton, and Tracy. 
  • Stanislaus Council of Governments (Stan COG) represents 10 member agencies including Stanislaus County and the cities of Ceres, Hughson, Modesto, Newman, Oakdale, Patterson, Riverbank, Turlock, and Waterford.
  • Tulare County Association of Governments (TCAG) represents nine member agencies including Tulare County and the cities of Dinuba, Exeter, Farmersville, Lindsay, Porterville, Tulare, Visalia, and Woodlake.