Skip to main content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer content

History

History Faculty

The History Department consists of full-time faculty, part-time faculty, and an administrative staff. Our dynamic community of scholars engages in a wide range of research pursuits that currently stretches from the medieval period to the twenty-first century.  They utilize distinct thematic orientations and theoretical approaches to explore geographic regions that include Europe, the Middle East, Latin America, Asia, and the United States.

 
 

Faculty Member

Field of Interest

 William Skuban

William Skuban, PhD

Professor and Department Chair

weskuban@csufresno.edu

 

Office: SS101

Office Hours: 
TTh 2:00 - 3:00

Latin American History; U.S. Latin American Relations; Nationalism, National Identity, and Nation-State Formation; Church-State Relations in Latin America
Lori Clune

Lori Clune, PhD

Professor & Graduate Coordinator

lclune@csufresno.edu

 

Office: SS128

Office Hours:
T 1:00 - 3:00

Global Cold War; U.S. Diplomatic History; Propaganda; Espionage; Video Game History

Note: On sabbatical Spring 2023

Generic Profile Image

Mark Arvanigian, PhD

Professor

marvanig@csufresno.edu

 

Office: SS121

Office Hours:
On leave academic year 2022-2023

Medieval Europe; Britain to 1600
Rowena Bermio

Rowena Bermio

Lecturer

rbermio@csufresno.edu

 

Office: SS106

Office Hours:
by appointment

Early Modern Europe; Cultural History; U.S. History; Religion; Medieval Art History
Stephen Bohigian

Stephen Bohigian, PhD

Lecturer

stephenbohigian@csufresno.edu

 

Office: NG141F

Office Hours:
M 9:00 - 9:50
T 2:30 - 3:20
or by appointment

Policing; Race; Criminal Justice; Urban History; Surveillance
Daniel Cady

Daniel Cady, PhD

Associate Professor

dcady@csufresno.edu

 

Office: SS116

Office Hours:
TTh 2:00 - 4:00
W 4:00 - 5:00
or by appointment

Twentieth-Century U.S.; American Music; Oral History
Allen Carden

Allen Carden, PhD

Lecturer

acarden@csufresno.edu

 

Office: SS129

Office Hours:
by appointment

Colonial America; Colonial Latin America; American Revolution; American Slavery; Licoln; American Civil War; American Presidency
Generic IMage

Vernon Creviston

Lecturer

vcreviston@csufresno.edu

 

Office: SS129

Office Hours:
T 11:00 - 12:00
MW 2:00 - 3:00

 
John Farrell

John Farrell, PhD

Lecturer

jfarrell@csufresno.edu

 

Office: SS117

Office Hours:
MWF 11:00 - 11:45
TTh 1:00 - 1:45
or by appointment

Modern Europe/Russia; Social Memory; Historical Preservation; Racial/Social Equality; Human Rights
Jill Fields

Jill Fields, PhD

Professor

jfields@csufresno.edu

 

Office: SS123

Office Hours:
Th 1:00 - 1:45, 3:30 - 4:30
or by appointment

Modern U.S.; U.S. Women's History; U.S. Popular Culture; Cultural Studies; Jewish Studies
Picture of Jose Garza

Jose Garza

Lecturer

josegarza@csufresno.edu

 

Office: SS129

Office Hours:
W 5:00 - 6:00
or by appointment

U.S. History Civil Rights History; African-American History; Social Revolutions and the History of Marginalized Communities
Generic Image

Mildred Denise Jessie

Lecturer

mjessie@csufresno.edu

 

 

 

Picture of Jones

Brad Jones, PhD

Professor

brajones@csufresno.edu

 

Office: SS121

Office Hours:
On sabbatical

Colonial and Revolutionary America; The Atlantic World; 18th-century British Empire; Popular Politics
Danny Kim

Danny Kim, PhD

Assistant Professor

danielkim@csufresno.edu

 

Office: SS119

Office Hours:
MT 2:00 - 4:00
or by appointment

Modern Korea; Modern Japan; Gender and Feminism; Literature
Ethan Kytle

Ethan Kytle, PhD

Professor

ekytle@csufresno.edu

 

Office: SS127

Office Hours:
TTh 11:00 - 12:15
or by appointment

Nineteenth-Century America; Intellectual and Cultural History; Civil War and Reconstruction; Slavery and Abolition; U.S. South; Historical Memory; Civil Rights Movement
Maria-Aparecida Lopes

Maria-Aparecida Lopes, PhD

Professor

mlopes@csufresno.edu

 

Office: SS216

Office Hours:
MW 11:00 - 12:00
or by appointment

19th and 20th Century Latin America, Mexico, and Brazil
Maritere Lopez

Maritere Lopez, PhD

Professor and Director, Graduate Net Initiative

mariterel@csufresno.edu

 

Office: SS120

Office Hours:
T 5:00 - 6:00
W 11:00 - 12:00
or by appointment

Renaissance/Reformation; Early Modern Women/Gender; Friendship & Love in the Renaissance; Early Modern Manners and Conduct Manuals
Generic Image

Lars Maischak, PhD

Lecturer

lars_maischak@csufresno.edu

 

Office: SS129

Office Hours:
by appointment

 
Victoria Malko

Victoria Malko, PhD

Lecturer

vmalko@csufresno.edu

 

Office: PB409

Office Hours:
W 2:00 - 3:00

U.S. History; World History; Soviet and Post-Soviet History; Holodomor Genocide Studies
Generic Image

Joseph Orbock

Lecturer

jorbock@csufresno.edu

 

Office: SS129

Office Hours:
by appointment

 
DeAnna Reese

DeAnna Reese, PhD

Professor

dreese@csufresno.edu

 

Office: SS125

Office Hours:
T 2:00 - 3:00
or by appointment

Twentieth-Century U.S. African American Women; Social Urban History
Generic Image

Alicia Rivera, PhD

Lecturer

alrivera@csufresno.edu

 

Office: SS129

Office Hours:
M 10:00 - 11:00
T 2:00 - 3:00
W 10:00 - 11:00

 
Roberts Profile

Blain Roberts, PhD

Professor

broberts@csufresno.edu

 

Office: SS118

Office Hours:
MW 2:00 - 2:50
or by appointment

Twentieth-Century U.S. Women's and Gender History; U.S. Cultural History; American South; Memory; Historical Tourism
Generic Image

Elvia Rodriguez, PhD

Lecturer

elviarodriguez@csufresno.edu

 

Office: SS106

Office Hours:
TH 9:30 - 10:30
or by appointment

 
Julia Shatz

Julia Shatz, PhD

Assistant Professor

jshatz@csufresno.edu

 

Office: SS126

Office Hours:
On leave Fall 2022

The Modern Middle East; British Empire/History of colonialism; Transnational History; History of Childhood/Child Welfare; Global Humanitarianism
Generic Image

Robin Sischo

Lecturer

rsischo@csufresno.edu

 

Office: S162

Office Hours:
by appointment

 
Generic Image

Sean Slusser

Lecturer

seslusser@csufresno.edu

 

Office: SS129

Office Hours:
T 11:30 - 1:00
W 12:30 - 1:30
or by appointment

 

 


 

Faculty Emeritus 

Malik Simba 2020

Malik Simba

Malik Simba, PhD
University of Minnesota

Area of Expertise:

Constitutional History, African-American History, History in Film. Professor's Web Page